Tues – Fri 6am – 11pm
Sat – Mon 7am – 9pm


Richmond Olympic Oval
1st Floor Lobby
6111 River Road
Richmond, BC V7C 0A2

Marshall Shields

2019 |


Marshall strives to instill pride, confidence and determination into each of his athletes. He believes that it has been passion, persistence and commitment that have made for the many successes in his 20 years of coaching. Actively coaching the Richmond Athletics U-23 to a league title in the Lower Mainland Men’s Fastball League

Richmond Roots Having resided in Richmond for nearly 30 years. Marshall has been coaching Men's and Boy's Fastball for 20 years and has worked with athletes of all ages and levels, including eight years serving as Head Coach with the Richmond Boys Fastball Association (RBFA)

Did You Know Many of his players would say that “a good coach can change a game, a great coach can change a life”


Recognition In his 20 years of coaching, Marshall has received recognition by the Steveston Men’s Fastball League Coach of the Year award from 2001-2006. Softball BC has recognized his 2012 senior team and 2013 youth team as provincial team of the year.

All Awards

2001 - 2006 Coach of the Year – Steveston Men’s League  
2012 Minor Team of the Year – Richmond Mariners  
2013 Senior Team of the Year – Richmond Stealers  

Championship Marshall and the various teams he has coached have acquired numerous titles and trophies. In Provincial boys fastball Marshall has led the Mariners to 5 gold medal finishes with three years back to back first places finishes from 2011-13.


2012 Senior Men’s Team of the Year – Richmond Stealers  
2013 Minor Team of the Year – Richmond  


Career Stats

YearTeam / OrganizationHighlight
2000 - Present Coach Steveston’s Men’s Fastball League  
2003 - 2012 Coach Richmond Boys Fastball Association  

Contribution to Richmond Sport Since the early 2000’s Marshall has coached countless teams winning 10 gold medals at the Provincial and Western Canadian level. He served as head coach of Richmond Boy’s Fastball from 2004 – 2013, and President from 2009 – 2015.

Skip to content